sidearea logo
news
 

HISTORY

Gut_Osterrade_Historie

Gut Osterrade – a brief summary of a long history

The manor house, which is typical of Schleswig-Holstein, is a protected historic building standing in idyllic parkland and surrounded by open ground studded with ancient beech trees, putting many a film set to shame.
Gut Osterrade embodies an authentic link between the modern day and a long, eventful history. As far back as the Middle Ages there was an estate within close proximity: Dosenrade. A new estate was built just to the east of Dosenrade – thus explaining the name: Osterrade, built in a clearing in the woodland well before the Thirty Years’ War.
You have to delve a full 429 years back through the annals to find the first mention of a manor house back in 1587. This was described as an elongated, single-storey building with a tiled roof and corner towers. ↓

 

In 1723, one Detlev Brockdorff constructed a new manor house on the foundations of the original building.
More than 100 years later, in 1829, Johann Friedrich Wehrtmann purchased the entire estate for the sum of 155,000 Reichstaler, the currency of the time. After a fire, Wehrtmann rebuilt the manor house and redesigned it as a wide, two-storey building in the classical style. An inscription with Roman numerals commemorates the then owner: “Johann Michael Friedrich Wehrtmann, hereditary lord of Osterrade, rebuilt this house, MDCCXXIX” ↓

stall

In 1836, the house was purchased for an undisclosed price by Caesar von Hildebrandt, a merchant from Hamburg. After the death of his homonymous son, von Hildebrandt’s widow sold the lands to the Principality of Schaumburg-Lippe.

In 1993, the family of Heinz Fromberger purchased the venerable Gut Osterrade, invested much time and money in its renovation, and began to build up what is now the tournament and breeding business for sport horses.

In 2004, the family built their own EU stud farm and insemination station.

sidearea logo
Aktuell
 

HISTORIE

Gut_Osterrade_Historie

Gut Osterrade – eine lange Geschichte in Kürze

 

Die idyllische Lage in einem Park, die prachtvollen Ausmaße des mit uralten Buchen bestandenden Areals und das Denkmal-geschützte, typisch schleswig-holsteinische Herrenhaus stellen jede Filmkulisse in den Schatten.
Gut Osterrade verkörpert die authentische Verbindung der Moderne mit einer langen, wechselvollen Geschichte.

Schon im Mittelalter  gab es in der unmittelbaren Nähe einen Gutshof: Dosenrade. Östlich davon – und so erklärt sich die Namensgebung – entstand im 16. Jahrhundert ein neues Anwesen: Osterrade, weit vor dem Dreißigjährigen Krieg erbaut auf einer Rodung im Wald.
In den Annalen finden sich im Jahr 1587, also vor 430 Jahren, erste Hinweise auf ein Herrenhaus, das als langgestreckter, eingeschossiger Bau mit Ziegeldach und Ecktürmen beschrieben wird. ↓

Im Jahr 1723 baut ein gewisser Detlev Brockdorff auf Basis der ursprünglichen Mauern ein neues Herrenhaus.
Mehr als 100 Jahre später, anno 1829, erwirbt Johann  Friedrich Wehrtmann das gesamte Gut für die damalige Währung von 155 000 Reichstalern. Wehrtmann lässt das Herrenhaus nach einem Brand zu einem zweigeschossigen Breitbau im klassizistischen Stil umgestalten. Eine Inschrift mit römischer Jahreszahl erinnert an den damaligen Bauherren: „Johann Michael Friedrich Werthmann, Erbherr auf Osterrade, hat dieses Haus wiedererbauet, MDCCXXIX“ ↓

stall

1836 erwirbt der Hamburger Großkaufmann Caesar von Hildebrandt das Gut für einen unbekannten Preis. Nach dem Tod seines gleichnamigen Sohnes verkauft die Witwe von Hildebrandt den Besitz an das Fürstentum Schaumburg-Lippe…

 

1993 kauft die Familie Heinz Fromberger das altehrwürdige Gut Osterrade, renoviert es aufwändig, und beginnt mit dem Aufbau des heutigen Turnier- und Zuchtbetriebes für Sportpferde.

 

2004 folgt der Bau der familieneigenen EU- Hengst- und Besamungsstation.